Medical and Scientific Advisors

Scientific Advisory Panel (SAP)

The Scientific Advisory Panel consists of eminent Medical Practitioners, who are supported by a number of Specialist Advisors (SAs) drawn from research centres throughout the United Kingdom.

The role of the SAP is to

  • arrange and agree timescales for calls for research applications
  • decide which Scientific Advisors should receive individual applications
  • agree external peer reviewers with SAs
  • receive external peer review and recommendations from SAs
  • meet to determine ranking and funding priority of applications and make recommendations to Trustees

Who is on the Scientific Advisory Panel?

The Panel evaluates submissions for research funding before making recommendations to the Board of Trustees. The Panel includes:

Professor Ian Lewis MB ChB FRCP FRCPCH

Consultant Paediatric and Adolescent Oncologist, St. James's University Hospital, Leeds, Professor of Cancer Studies in Children and Young People at the University of Leeds and a Lead for Children's and Young People's Strategy for Yorkshire and Humber Strategic Health Authority. Past Chair, Medical Research Council, (Bone Sarcoma Working Party) and United Kingdom Children's Cancer Study Group, (Bone Sarcoma Group), and the UKCCSG (New Agents Group). He remains an active member of these, as well as the European Osteosarcoma Intergroup and the Euro-Ewing Steering Committee. He is the clinical lead in translational research to the Candlelighters' Children's Cancer Laboratory at the Cancer Research UK Cancer Medicine Research Unit in Leeds.

Mr Robert Grimer MB BS FRCS (Eng) FRCS (Edin) Orth.

Consultant Orthopaedic Surgeon, Royal Orthopaedic Hospital, Birmingham. Chair, Sarcoma Group, National Cancer Research Institute. Secretary, British Sarcoma Group. Past President, British Orthopaedic Oncology Society.

Dr Jeremy Whelan MD MB BS MRCP

Consultant Medical Oncologist, University College Hospital, London. Current Chair NCRI and CCLG Bone Sarcoma Groups.

Mr Craig Gerrand MB ChB, FRCSEd (Tr and Orth), MD, MBA

Consultant Orthopaedic Surgeon, Newcastle Upon Tyne Hospitals NHS Trust. Previous President British Orthopaedic Oncology Society, and member of National Cancer Research Institute Sarcoma Studies Group. Bone Cancer Research Trust Trustee. Scientific Chair British Sarcoma Group Conference 2011.

Specialist Advisors

The role of the Specialist Advisers is to:

  • act as a source of peer review
  • advise on other experts in the area who could offer expert peer review
  • advise the SAP on appropriateness and quality of research proposals


Area of Expertise


Dr Cindy Billingham


Univ. of Birmingham,
Cancer Research UK Clinical Trials Unit.
Head of Biostatistics and Assistant Director of Research Methodology
Visiting Research Fellow UKCCSG

Dr Sue Burchill

Translational Research
- Ewing's Sarcoma

Univ. of Leeds,
St. James's University Hospital.
Executive Committee, British Association for Cancer Research

Dr Mark Davies

Consultant Radiologist
- Imaging

Royal Orthopaedic Hospital,

Prof Tim Eden

- Paediatric & Haematological

Univ. of Manchester,
Christie Hospital.
TCT Professor of Teenage Cancer

Dr Meriel Jenney

Quality of Life
- Children

Llandough Hospital,
Clinical Trials Unit, Cardiff.
Consultant Paediatric Oncologist.
Member, Research Ethics Committee in Wales

Prof Ian Judson

- Phases 1 & 2

Royal Marsden Hospital,
The Institute of Cancer Research, London.
Professor of Cancer Pharmacology
Consultant Medical Oncologist
President, British Sarcoma Group

Dr Mike Leahy

- Adult

Univ. of Manchester,
Christie Hospital.
Senior Lecturer

Prof Herbie Newell

- New agents

Univ. of Newcastle-upon-Tyne,
Northern Institute for Cancer Research.
Professor of Cancer Therapeutics, & Scientific Director

Prof Kathy Pritchard-Jones

- Experimental medicine

Children's Dept.,
Royal Marsden Hospital and The Institute of Cancer Research,
Professor of Childhood Biology and Honorary Consultant in Paediatric Oncology

Dr Robin Reid


Univ. of Glasgow,
Western Infirmary,
Dept. of Pathology.
Senior Lecturer
Vice-President, The Association of Clinical Pathologists

Prof Mike Stevens

Late effects
- Children

Univ. of Bristol,
Institute of Child Health.
CLIC Professor of Paediatric Oncology

Prof Josef Vormoor

Experimental medicine

Univ. of Newcastle-upon-Tyne,
Northern Institute for Cancer Research.
Professor of Clinical Paediatric Oncology

Many thanks to the following people who have reviewed grant applications for BCRT since 2006:

Dr John Anderson – UCL
Professor Ronald Barr – McMaster University, Canada
Dr Sandy Beare – University of Newcastle
Professor Anton Berns – Netherlands Cancer Institute, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Professor Roy Bicknell – University of Birmingham
Professor Jillian Birch – Manchester University
Professor Alan Boddy – University of Newcastle
Professor Chris Boshoff – UCL
Dr Keith Brown – Bristol University
Professor Susan Burchill – St James’s University Hospital, Leeds
Professor Julia Brown – University of Leeds
Professor Steven Clifford – University of Newcastle
Professor Justin Cobb – Imperial College London
Dr Graham Cook – Leeds Institute of Molecular Medicine
Dr Gabi Dachs – University of Otago, New Zealand
Dr Mark Davies – The Royal Orthopaedic Hospital, Birmingham
Dr Erika De Winter – University of Leeds
Professor Christine Eiser – The University of Sheffield
Dr Eddy Estlin – Manchester Children’s University Hospitals
Dr Keren Fisher – Royal National Orthopaedic Hospital, Stanmore
Professor Adrienne Flanagan – Royal National Orthopaedic Hospital
Dr Paul Genever – University of York
Dr David Green – University of Leeds
Dr Agi Grigoriadis – King’s College London
Dr Richard Grose – Institute of Cancer, London
Dr Sylvie Guichard – Edinburgh Cancer Research Centre
Professor Bass Hassan – Oxford University
Professor John Heath – The University of Birmingham
Professor Pancras Hogendoorn – Leiden University, Netherlands
Dr Ingunn Holen – University of Sheffield
Dr David Hughes – Sheffield Teaching Hospitals
Dr Tom Johnston – York University
Dr Elena Jones – University of Leeds
Professor Ian Judson – Institute of Cancer Research
Dr Wael Kafienah – University of Bristol
Professor Nicol Keith – University of Glasgow
Professor Elizabeth Lawlor – University of Michigan, USA
Dr Gill Lawrence – University of Birmingham
Professor Steve Lessnik – University of Utah, USA
Dr Crystal Mackall – National Cancer Institute, Maryland, USA
Dr Guy Makin - Manchester University
Professor Dennis McGonagle – Leeds University
Dr Richard McNally – University of Newcastle
Dr Melinda Merchant – National Cancer Institute, USA
Dr Bruce Moreland – Birmingham Children’s Hospital
Dr Mike Murphy – Childhood Cancer Research Group, University of Oxford
Professor Olivier Pardo – Imperial College London
Mr Sam Patton – New Royal Infirmary Edinburgh
Professor Andy Pearson – Royal Marsden Hospital
Dr Judy Powell – University of Birmingham
Dr Phil Robinson - St James’s University Hospital, Leeds
Dr Craig Robson – University of Newcastle
Dr David Roodman – University of Pittsburgh, USA
Dr Clare Rowntree – Cardiff University
Professor Donald Salter – Edinburgh University
Dr Anjali Shah – University of London
Dr Logan Spector – University of Minnesota, USA
Dr Sandra Strauss – UCLH
Professor Jeff Toretsky – Georgetown University Hospital, Washington, USA
Professor Josef Vormoor – University of Newcastle
Professor Gordan Vujanic – Cardiff University
Professor Catharine West – Manchester University
Dr Kaye Williams – University of Manchester

Social Networks
Follow us on Twitter
We're awarding 5 x £10k research grants at our Strictly Research 10th birthday celebrations. More info on the flyer:
View us on Flickr
Join us on Facebook